Give Him a Mask

This weekend, a friend of mine asked me if I had written any blog posts recently. A couple of weeks ago, someone asked me to forward a copy of a post to them. It’s a strange sensation to put your thoughts out there for the world to see (and even stranger to know they’ve been looking!)

As a little girl, I kept a super-secret diary. It had a lock on it, and I wrote about important things like who I had a crush on  and what I had for dinner. Today, I don’t need that little locked book. We have a unique opportunity to share any and every detail of our lives with anyone who chooses to tune in. Some people use social media as a personal diary. They post pictures, notes, and memories as a way to preserve them for later. Others use it a platform for activism, posting in an attempt to persuade or make a change in the world around them. Still others use it as a purely social platform – to connect with others and strengthen relationships.

It doesn’t matter why you post, the reality is that you’re putting a mask forward. If you’re using it for memories, you post only those things you want to remember. If you’re posting for activism, you post only those things you think will move your cause forward. In an effort to be social, you post those things you think will bring you closer to those around you.

“Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth.” – Oscar Wilde

So what mask do I share? Maybe a little bit of everything. I hope that the things I write will be something I look back on years from now and remember with fondness. I hope that they will help people understand why I believe the things I do. I hope they will spark conversation, debate, and thoughtfulness with, and among, my friends. And I hope that from time to time, they’ll make you smile.

The funny thing about the Internet is that you never know who’s looking. Privacy, shmivacy – yes you can add some controls, but when you go online, you open the door to the world.

Whatever brings you here today, I welcome you. Thanks for taking the time to be a part of my world.

Leave a Reply

